“My Writing Process” Blog Tour

Image

I’ve joined a blog tour! In this blog relay, an author discusses their writing process and passes the baton to other authors. Last week, my talented writer friend, Liz Coley, author of Pretty Girl-13, passed the baton to me. Check out her blog! She has exciting information about her book and her writing.

What am I working on?

I’m currently head and shoulders deep in a young adult science fiction thriller titled, Strings. Strings is my first attempt at SciFi and I find myself constantly checking my science to make sure that the fiction part of it at least sounds realistic or plausible. But let’s face it, no matter how real I try to make it sound, it’s not going to be believable to hard core scientists. This novel is very different from my first novel, Voices in the Waves, which is a young adult fantasy. When I wrote Voices in the Waves, I spent a lot of time on the world building and envisioning this otherworldly society and their interactions with nature and with other intelligent life forms that live on their planet. Strings is more SciFi than Fantasy, but it has elements of both. Without giving too much away, it’s a story of a high school science prodigy caught between a government science organization with alternative motives and a fanatic religious cult hiding a dark secret. That’s all I can say for now. J

How does my work differ from others of its genre? Why do I write what I do?

Since I have an eclectic interest in reading, my influences come from all genres, including young adult, fantasy, science fiction, romance and even non-fiction science and history. I use elements from all different genres to plot my novels. My main goal has always been to build well-rounded relatable characters living exciting lives in interesting places. I write, as many other writers will tell you, because I’m compelled to. Ever since my first love, Anne McCaffrey’s Pern books, I’ve always wanted to create worlds to help my readers escape for a little while.

How does your writing process work? 

My first novel, Voices in the Waves, was my teacher. Writing Voices taught me that I need to have a solid plan, otherwise I’ll wind up writing and rewriting the novel several times. Which is exactly what happened. I wrote Voices three times (yes the entire novel) before I was happy with the plot – then I started the long process of revisions and polishing. I have all my talented writer friends to thank in my various critique groups for pointing out what wasn’t working, where I need to change course and if I should just completely get rid of a chapter or two, or ten. If I had a better plan, maybe the process would not have taken so long. Then again, I may not have learned so much. So now I write a general outline, a solid beginning chapter or two, and a vague ending chapter just to have a goal to work toward. I don’t always stick with the ending (or the beginning), but it helps me focus while I’m writing. My outline includes a paragraph for each chapter, but sometimes I change things as I write the novel. If I wind up changing major elements (such as getting rid of a character or adding in a new one, or completely changing the setting) I spend more time on the outline to make sure I’m not confused going forward. And confused I get – especially with a complicated story like Strings. With all the science, the world-building, and the characters and their relationships, I’d be lost without the outline.

NEXT WEEK

Stay tuned for the next part of the relay as I pass the baton to another talented writer friend, Lisa Koosis!

Lisa Koosis is a web-content coordinator by day and a writer of speculative fiction by night. She is a prize-winning short story author whose fiction has appeared in numerous anthologies and magazines, including Family Circle, The Poughkeepsie Journal, Abyss & Apex and the British-Fantasy-Award-winning Murky Depths. Besides writing, her two greatest loves are animals and the ocean. Originally from Long Island, Lisa now lives in New York’s historic Hudson Valley with her family, both two- and four-legged. She hopes eventually to have a novel published.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “My Writing Process” Blog Tour

  1. Loretta, it was so interesting to read about your process. I find myself endlessly fascinated by the act of creating and how different the process is for all of us. Your new project sounds exciting (and right up my alley!) I’ll look forward to reading it one day soon. Thank you for tagging me. I’m looking forward to participating tomorrow. 🙂

  2. Although the thought of starting out with an outline makes me cringe, it sounds like it might save time in the long run. I’m officially reconsidering my attitude, but I refuse to use Roman Numerals! Thanks for your post! It’s so interesting to read about how other writers work!

Leave a Reply

