From Crossroads to Fantasy: How Armenian Mythology Inspired My Writing

As writers, it’s often said that we draw from our own experiences and cultures to create unique and captivating stories. For me, being of Armenian descent has heavily influenced my writing, particularly in the realm of young adult fantasy.

One of the most fascinating aspects of Armenian culture is its mythology. As a child, I was enraptured by the stories of gods and goddesses, monsters and heroes, and the intricate folklore that wove them all together. It wasn’t until I started writing that I realized just how much these tales had seeped into my imagination.

In my work-in-progress young adult fantasy novel, I wanted to incorporate elements of Armenian mythology in a way that was fresh and exciting. I decided to create a fictional world that was loosely based on Armenia’s geography, with elements of fantasy woven in. The result was a land of rugged mountains, sprawling forests, and winding rivers, filled with magical creatures and ancient ruins.

One of the things that made this world so rich was the crossroads of Armenia. Its location at the intersection between the East and the West meant that the myths and legends of many different cultures intersected there, from the Greek gods to the Persian djinn. I used this idea to create a pantheon of gods that were inspired by various mythologies, giving them my own unique spin.

For example, a little-known goddess, but a powerful one in her own right, is Ayg, the Goddess of Dawn. In my novel, Ayg is a benevolent deity who brings light and hope to the world. On the other hand, the main villain of my story is Ahriman, who’s based on the Zoroastrian god of darkness and evil. Ahriman is a malevolent deity who seeks to plunge the world into eternal darkness and chaos. By including these two opposing deities, I was able to create a sense of balance in my worldbuilding, where light and darkness were in constant conflict.

By using the crossroads of Armenia as a foundation for my world-building, I was able to create a rich and diverse universe that was both familiar and fantastical. I drew from my own cultural background to create a story that was uniquely my own, but also one that could resonate with readers from all walks of life.

This entry was posted in Research, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to From Crossroads to Fantasy: How Armenian Mythology Inspired My Writing

  1. I’m so glad you started blogging again. Beautiful.

Leave a comment